Uncategorized

Just call me “Wait till the Last Minute Mom”

Who belongs to a ridiculous amount of baking or food groups on Facebook?? Who is purposely trying to make all of their friends fat by sharing all the deliciousness you find on your news feed?? πŸ™‹πŸΌπŸ™‹πŸΌπŸ™‹πŸΌ

The ONLY baking plans I had for yesterday was to redo my Pecan Crack Toffee for my LOs security officer. Well, thanks to FACEBOOK, I found this extremely cute recipe for baby chick cookies, and decided to add that to my already hectic day and let it pour into my heavily scheduled night. “Why do it tonight?” You ask! “Easter isn’t for another week and a half” you say!… my answer to that is:

My LOs spring break starts tomorrow, and I wanted to bring something for her to share with her class today during their Easter celebration. Yes, I decided this VERY last minute! As per the usual…. 30 mins before I was supposed to leave work to go to school (which I ditched because I was having Zoloft withdrawal brain zaps and I didn’t feel like sitting in class for 3hrs with them). 

GOD I wish I had taken a picture of the war zone that was my kitchen. 2 baking projects, in a small kitchen for 3-4hrs?!?!? What was I thinking??? I mean, At one point, I put my oversized cookie sheet of cooling pecan brittle on an ever so slightly slanted coffee machine, and if I hadn’t been standing where I was, at that exact moment, round 2 would have been on the floor, and round 3 would have ended up happening!!!! 

Here are the pictures from my cookie experiment:

 If you’re interested in trying these, here are the websites i found for the cookies and for the milk free frosting that I used for the legs (I added orange liquid gel food dye to they that color. I think I used 3-4 drops of sunset orange)

Easter Chicks Lemon Cookies
Easy Buttercream Frosting
Each batch produced about 10-11 chicks. 

1st batch, I made it with super moist Betty Crocker lemon cake mix. The 2nd batch I just made it with pillsbury white cake mix. On both batches, I used 2 drops each of Lemon Yellow liquid gel food coloring. 

OMG!!! I forgot to mention! I completely slipped, and forgot not only Emmas lactose free milk at target, but I forgot the shortening I needed for the cookies!! I was so pissed cuz I was NOT about to go out in that rain storm for FAT!!! Thanks to a quick text to the boyfriend, I ended up using butter as a substitute. It made them spread a little more than I wanted it to, but it just made them into cute fat fluffy little chickies!! Haha
Cute idea right?

I told you I do all my best work when it’s last minute and I’m fighting back the 😴😴😴’s
Onto the next baking adventure!!

One thought on “Just call me “Wait till the Last Minute Mom”

Leave a Reply

